The European Heritage Awards

The Awards are granted annually to identify and promote best practices in the conservation of tangible and intangible cultural heritage, to stimulate the trans-frontier exchanges of knowledge and experience throughout Europe, to enhance public awareness and appreciation of Europe’s cultural heritage, and to encourage further excellent initiatives through the power of example.

Outstanding heritage achievements will be awarded in the following categories​:

  • Conservation
  • Research
  • Dedicated service by individuals or organisations
  • Education, training and awareness-raising

Criteria for the assessment and selection of entries include: excellence in the work executed and preliminary research conducted, respect for artistic, cultural and social value, setting, authenticity, integrity as well as the European dimension of the entry. Its innovation, sustainability, interpretation and presentation, educational work, funding and management, social responsibility, and audience development will also be considered. Entries can be on a scale ranging from small to large, local to international.

The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards will honour up to 30 outstanding heritage

achievements from all parts of Europe every year. The number of awards every year will depend on the type and quality of entries received. Up to seven projects will be selected as Grand Prix winners and one will receive the Public Choice Award through an online vote conducted via the Europa Nostra website.

Closing date: 15 November 2018 ​(last date of receipt)

For more information:

Download an entry form: ​

To top
Skip to content